Who are the Champions of Chennai?

‘Champion of Chennai’ is the title awarded by KSA Trust on identified and selected individuals and organisations in Chennai. Collectively, they are referred to as ‘Champions of Chennai’.

What is KSA Trust?

KSA Trust is a public charitable trust, duly registered with the office of the Sub-Registrar, South, Mylapore. The trust is also registered u/sec 12AA and approved u/sec 80G of the Income Tax Act, 1961.

Where is the trust?

The registered office of the trust is at No. 31/14, Krishnaswamy Avenue, Luz, Mylapore, Chennai 600004. Ph- 044-24988849, 24671015.

Who manages KSA Trust?

K. Kalyanasundaram, Managing Trustee
Founder & Chief Partner
Kalyanasundaram & Associates
Chartered Accountants
Ph: 9841088390
Email: kalyan@ksaca.com

T. R. Gopalakrishnan, Trustee
Kalyanasundaram & Associates
Chartered Accountants
Ph: 9841095608
Email: gopal@ksaca.com

R. Manikandan, Trustee
Chief Executive Officer
Tandem Accounting Services Pvt Ltd
Ph: 9841284818
Email: mani@tacs.in

Mrs. Vijaya Kalyan, Advisor
Ph: 9381061883
Email: yoghita.yoga@gmail.com

How are the Champions of Chennai selected?

Throughout the year, nominations are received under each category. It does not matter if the person nominating knows the nominee first hand or has just heard / read about the nominee from any source. The team at KSA Trust does research about the nominee on the web, from people who know about the work done by the champions and people who have been impacted by the work of the champions.

A shortlist of the nominees is drawn up under each category and the awardees are selected after due discussion and debate.

In order to maintain independence of choice and arm’s-length selection process, we ensure that the shortlisted nominees are those with whom we or any of our associated concerns do not do any business with. We also ensure that we do not do any business with any of the Champions of Chennai for a period of three years after the awards.

What are the criteria for selecting the Champions?

The champions are those who-

  • Live or work or have lived or worked in Chennai
  • Have impacted a large number of people in Chennai positively
  • Can be either an individual or an organisation
  • Is not already famous or popular outside their circles

Who can nominate a Champion?

Any person can nominate a Champion. The person who nominates the Champion will be featured in that year’s Awards Book.

What does the award consist of?

The award consists of a citation and a specially designed trophy. An Awards Book is also published at the awards function. The Awards Book consists of the stories and achievements of the Champions, in English and Tamil.

When are the awards given?

The awards are given at a public function held on the 17th of August every year. It was on that day in 1988 that the firm KSA was founded.

When are the awards given?

In 2013 and 2014, the awards functions were held at Swami Chinmayananda Hall, Harrington Road, Egmore. For the next two years the function was held at Smt. Sivagami Pethachi Auditorium, Alwarpet, Chennai 600018. The 2017 awards function too will be held at this venue.